Q: What happens when you fail to report an accident in Illinois?
If you are involved in an accident in Illinois and you fail to report it, you could face a fine or even jail time. There are even stiffer penalties for those who leave the scene of an accident.
When there is a failure to report an accident in Illinois, you could end up with a hefty $2,500 fine, or a year of jail time.
In the event you leave the scene of an Illinois accident, you would automatically be considered a hit and run driver. Hit and run drivers face much more serious penalties.
If you leave the scene of an Illinois accident but return within 30 minutes, you could face the $2,500 fine or one year of jail time. If you fail to return to the scene of an Illinois accident or if you return after 30 minutes, you could face a fine of up to $25,000 and up to 3 years in jail.
Additionally, if you leave the scene of an Illinois accident and there is property damage that exceeds $1,000, your license could be suspended. If injuries or fatalities resulted from the accident, your driver's license may be revoked.
Failure to report an accident in Illinois can result in extremely serious consequences. If you have been injured in an Illinois accident, contact a Chicago accident lawyer today. A Chicago accident lawyer can advise you of your rights, legal options and how to proceed with an Illinois accident claim.
Contact a Chicago Accident Lawyer Today
At the Law Offices of Barry G. Doyle, P.C, our attorneys will examine all aspects of your claim, determine liability and aggressively pursue the full amount of compensation due to you or your loved one for any injuries or loss of life resulting from an Illinois accident. Contact us today for a no-cost case evaluation - 312-263-1080.